I Have The Drawing Skills of a 4 Year Old

Last week I came across an inexpensive sketch book. I carried it through the store while looking at a few other items, really wondering whether or not I should purchase it. A sketch book is for people who really know how to draw, to create, so I thought maybe I shouldn’t get it.

I held it in my hands as I walked through the store, thinking about whether or not it was something I would not only use, but benefit from as well. Finally, I made my way to the checkout with the sketch book. After all, I’m not going to become a better designer without really understanding how to put pieces together into a great piece. I think learning to hone my skills in drawing will help with that.

Photo Nov 20, 7 00 53 PM

An actual drawing by Dylan James Morse!

Now I have a sketch book and a bunch of pencils. The first couple pages are filled with random scribbles, a few of my signatures and two of my favorite quotes. I feel like this is where the real work comes in. I have over a hundred blank pages staring me right in the face. They seem to mock me.

BUT THEN AGAIN…..so did the first blank pages. So what are a couple hundred more, right? I’ll just keep scribbling until something special comes from my fingertips and onto the paper. If nothing special happens, I’ll just get another sketchbook. And another. And another…

Leave a comment