Many Hats or One Big Awesome Hat

With the seasonal nature of my job with GoApe! (a treetop adventure course at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis), I have returned to my in-law’s bustling restaurant/catering/venue business to help for the holidays. GoApe! has also asked me to be their go-to for graphic design for the time being as well, which is an amazing opportunity. I wouldn’t say I’m THE graphic designer for all GoApe! courses throughout the U.S. because what I’ve been doing so far has been a trial run, but there definitely isn’t anyone else doing their graphic work right now and they’re loving the work I’ve done so far. Until that becomes more of a full-time, or at least a heavy part-time, position, I’ll be at Pipers Hospitality Group doing what I can to help out.

This means acting as a prep cook, taking catering deliveries, playing bus boy, expediting the restaurant food, setting up for events and serving large groups in the restaurant. I’ve also been trying to squeeze in design work when I have down time at Pipers. Today’s schedule looked like this:

8 am – Arrive at Pipers and start prepping a cold buffet for 36 people.
9:45 am – Finish working on a supervision graphic for GoApe! to add to training power points and make a large sign for all course cabins to make it easy for guests to understand our supervision policy.
10:15 am – Help prep more food for other catering parties.
10:45 am – Leave for my delivery. Set up buffet downtown and drive back to Pipers.
11:45 am – Return from delivery to help in the restaurant for lunch.
11:45 am to 1:35 pm – Expedite lunch food for large parties, clean dirty lunch dishes, bus tables, run food.

Some people say I wear many hats, but I like to think of it more like one big awesome hat made just for me.

Now it’s 2:00 pm and I’m home to start Christmas shopping for my wife. She’s the best and already did all the shopping for the rest of our friends and family. Hopefully I find what I need quickly because Christmas shopping crowds are the worst. I know, I know, I’m part of the crowd, but my needs are much more important than theirs. Duh

Leave a comment